RDRRMC-12 taps Sarangani as model for disaster preparedness

The Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (RDRRMC) of Region 12 has tapped Sarangani Province’s disaster management system as model for disaster preparedness in the region.

Sarangani Governor Steve Chiongbian Solon said Monday the council is currently working on the replication by other local government units (LGUs) in the region of the province’s disaster management sub-program Sulong Kaligtasan.

He said the local government has been tasked to assist other LGUs in the adoption of the program, which is a component of its flagship Sulong Sarangani initiative.

Sarangani has been recognized as one of the most “disaster-resilient” provinces in Region 12 and bagged the Gawad Kalasag awards 2014 and 2015.

Solon stressed the need for other LGUs to strengthen their efforts on keeping their constituents safe and protected when disasters strike.

He said a major theme in Sarangani’s efforts is the convergence among its departments, divisions and municipal LGUs.

“It allowed better cohesion among departments and ensures non- duplication of projects and programs,” he said.

Sulong Kaligtasan is managed by the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office (PDRRMO).

Through the program, Rene Punzalan, PDRRMO chief, said they manage a 24/7 emergency response station dubbed SAR 117.

He said it operates exclusively within the seven municipalities of Sarangani and as of today, it is going through an enhancement parallel with President Rodrigo R. Duterte’s 911 emergency hotline.

Adding up to the province’s disaster resiliency thrust is the rollout of the Galileo Philippines’ global positions system of GPS tracking, which is installed in heavy equipment, light vehicles and trucks of the provincial government, he said.

It mainly monitors the exact location of all units and monitors fuel consumption.

Punzalan said they enhanced their radio system and repeater links enable faster communication in the province.

He said they also installed a multi-purpose siren system in identified flood-prone barangays.

Region 12 or Soccsksargen is composed of four provinces, five cities, and 45 municipalities.

The region hosts major river basins, among them the Mindanao, Cotabato and Buayan-Malungon, that are highly vulnerable to flooding.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search